A slight introspective.

There are basic differences between the categories in which this blog is organized. On the one hand, there is maths, often rather technical and detailed, highlighting some certain aspect of a topic that has caught my interest. Usually, those texts are written immediately after I have spent enough time with this particular topic – as I often switch the topics of interest and as I tend to forget the technical details pretty fast. As a matter of fact, this is exactly why there are these mathematical texts: I can get amazed by remembering the details when I re-read the blog, and especially when I have understood fundamental things about something, I wish to keep some record and some hint of how things work.

On the other hand, there are the deeper texts on literature, like book reviews or texts on topics that I have spent a lot of time with (usually a lot more than with the particular math topics: those switch faster). In some respects, I find those texts not only deep and long, but also somewhat more mature. I have taken a lot of time to develop an understanding of these things, and even if someone was to disagree with me, I would feel ready for discussion, even years later. This is why my stack of topics to be covered changes rather slowly. I have a text on Sebastian Haffner in the back of my mind, which still needs to be written, and which can’t be written in just half an hour of leisure time; same goes for a text on the TV-series Sherlock, which itself may be still work in progress, anyway. I was tempted to start a text on ancient Greece and democracy (today compared to the past), but I didn’t feel to have any definite view yet – this topic needs some more maturity. Time and again, texts like the one on The Beatles just drop out of my head and appear here, which then strikes me as a nice event, as I have managed to put down my present view of some aspect that I have spent very much time with.

And then, there are the posts like this one. Somewhat short, lacking the really deep insights, but in some way serving as a blog in the original sense of the word: as my “web-log”. They deal with topics that sparked my immediate interest, they sometimes deal with my lack of putting my insights in writing, they sometimes even focus on my personal situation of sorts. I am quite aware of the problem that this post doesn’t bring any benefit to humanity, and that this kind of self-centration is one of the tombstones of modern media. But, if my deeper insights still have to mature, then so be it. Let us stick to Gauss: Pauca sed matura. And, as the phases come and go, my lack of spare time has returned and makes it harder to actually let my insights mature as much as I want them to. But, on the up-side, new music by Judith Holofernes is about to show up, I encountered the most amazing unplugged music by the wonderfully talented Taylor Swift, I’ve had a look at the 4th season of Sherlock, and I retrieved a great book with short-stories by Andreas Eschbach. All this made my day, several times over.

Maybe, in some way, having thought about the structure of what can be found here, has been quite an insight for myself. Considering where this post started, that’s not nothing.

Leave a Reply

